It’s the landing…I hate it

July 3, 2006 at 10:05 pm | Posted in nonsense | 7 Comments

I was reading Cranky Chick’s blog, and she got me thinking about flying, so I replied to her with this:

Here’s a cheery one: Did you know that the reason you get put into the crash position is to kill you with as little suffering as possible? Seriously. When you hold your head like that, as soon as there’s an impact, you get slammed into the seat in front of you and snap your head right off. No pain, just sweet sweet eternity.

For me it’s always landing that freaks me out. Every time, right before we hit the ground, the plane seems to tilt a little so it lands on two sets of wheels and kind of wheelies along for a second or two before balancing up on all three. I think the pilots do it to take the piss.

“Hey Clint, it’s been a quiet flight, what say we scare the shit out of some of some noob passengers?”

“OMG Hank, EL EM EFF AY OH! Let’s do it!”

Fucking pilots.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Found ya!

  2. I once landed in a thunderstorm with severe turbulence and I was the only fool smiling and laughing giddily as if we were on a roller coaster. Everyone else was white knuckling it, while I was having a grand ol’ time. I figure, hey, they do this for a living. I trust them.

  3. Hey kav, what’s the title of your blog mean? Is it some mathematical constant I never learned about or is it a number that has special meaning to you?

  4. wait, i just did a bit of quick research an found a page referencing PhIGs, presumably a microbiology thing. Am i right?

  5. Hey michael, good to see you discovered the power of moderation! I actually turned my moderation off – I’d rather see the pure, undistilled rants people post. However, I did turn on the verification thing, because otherwise you’ll get swamped with assholes trying to sell you crap.

    Beckie, the meaning of those numbers is even more esoteric than you’ve imagined…but hopefully not as nerdy. I’ve written a post about it to explain it.

  6. The landing is definitely the most exciting part(y). I’ve flown into Boston and had the 747 hit the ground so hard it was in for repairs for a week afterwards on the landing gear. That was frightening. In shitty sideways winds I had the pleasure of experiencing a “third time lucky” approach by the pilot.. as the aircraft twisted on every possible axis just about everyone was shitting themselves. I just couldn’t help wondering what the mess would look like afterwards.

  7. Jesus…that’s excitement I would rather avoid.

    My dad works for a small airline who do local flights in Galway out to the Aran Islands (you should go there, plenty worth photographing!), and their planes can only carry 9 passengers.

    This is how small they are: if you’re last on the plane, you get to sit next to the pilot.

    On windy days, these planes almost do loop-the-loops. Having seen these guys in action, I take back everything I said about pilots…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

