Making connections

July 4, 2006 at 12:29 pm | Posted in random | 6 Comments

Although I didn’t start writing this blog with the intention of anyone else reading it, it’s strangely addictive to find that some random stranger has not only taken the time to read my ramblings, but has actually gone to the effort of responding to me too.

I’d never really thought of blogging as a social tool before – to me it’s always seemed to be a solitary activity. I couldn’t be more wrong.

Can anyone explain how they found other blogs, and why they picked them?

In my case, I kept clicking “Next Blog” in the top right-hand corner until I found someone interesting. Or they found me.

In other news, sleeping on the job is apparently useful. That article has validated something I’ve suspected for ages. I always get a post-lunchtime dip, where I feel unbelievably sleepy, often to the point where I literally can’t keep my eyes open. I’ve been known to drool onto my shirt during these sessions, much to my colleagues’ amusement.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I found your blog by hitting next blog next blog next blog until something came up in an alphabet I recognised and in English. I keep reading it because it’s more interesting than my day job.

  2. Ah…the same approach I’ve used, I see.

    I’ve been spending an inordinate amount of time recently posting and reading other people’s blogs. I ought to watch it here…unlike you, I have no potential to do anything else!

  3. I too, found you through the “next blog” button. However, I also find people through the blog rolls on the sidebar of other people’s blogs. If I like the blog I’m reading, I’ll check out the people this person reads and see if it’s worthwhile. Such interesting connections and communities arise that way. It’s actually a whole field of mathematics (I’m a math teacher) and science and is used extensively to chart the course of disease etc.

  4. I usually read my commenters’ blogs, and I check out the sidebars of other blogs I like. It’s kind of addictive. I started blogging to tell little stories to my long distance family, and in no time at all, I started getting regular readers I’d never heard of before. Hope you have fun with it, too!

  5. Oh! And try a b-vitamin complex. I completely lost my afternoon slump when I started taking one, which kind of made me mad, because I’ve wasted a lot of time being tired all these years!

  6. B-vitamins you say? Hmmm….I’ll give it a go. I’ve cut out alot of shit recently and have just been eating fruit – I’ve found that not having sweets/chocolate at lunch really helps.

    No sugar spike, I suppose.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

