Slightly drunk midnight post

July 15, 2006 at 11:05 pm | Posted in family, nonsense | 3 Comments

Tonight turned out to be surprisingly good. It was a close friend of Linzi’s surprise 30th party…with a Western theme. Ugh. I hate fancy dress in all its forms. Despite that, here I am, about eight hours ago:
That’s my baby I’m holding. Both of them.

So she’s really fucking snobby, this girl who’s hosting the party. That’s the main reason I was dreading it. I hate the awkwardness. And besides, it’s a faux-snobbiness. It’s a middle-class attempt at being upper-class.

Give me a party where I can walk in, grab a beer, and talk shit, and I’m happy. When it comes to air-kissing and selecting the Pinot Grigio over the Cabernet Sauvignon because its fruity dryness complements the Doritos, I’m fucking lost. I faced this evening with some trepidation because I figured that (a) there would be lots of people I didn’t know there and (b) they would all have their heads up their arses and have been raised in a world so far removed from mine that I would find nothing whatsoever in common with them.

There is some validity to my trepidation. I’ve been to parties at their house before which have ended up exactly like this. Vulgar flirting and even more blatant oneupmanship. If you’ve read American Psycho, picture the world inhabited by Pat Bateman – the superficiality and smiling duplicity of slick boys and girls who’ve never had too work too hard to get what they want.

Good news though. My worries were in vain. There was a good bunch of people at the party. Since it was Norman’s 30th, it was mostly his friends there, and since he is a really down-to-earth guy, most of his friends are pretty normal too. I got a bit drunk and had a generally good time. I didn’t make an arse of myself. I ogled all the saloon girls’ cleavage, and Linzi didn’t mind. If she wasn’t 9 months pregnant, she’d have been flashing it right along with the rest of them…

Well. Time for bed. Linzi just snapped me a few minutes ago, on the couch downstairs:


Peace on earth, good will to all men. And women. Happy new year.


3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Drunken posts are the best ones… 🙂

  2. Good Lord, your outfit is hilarious! Your wifey is a doll and she looks great for 9 months pregnant.

    Found you from DD’s blog.

  3. michael: I didn’t want to get too pissed, in case Linzi went into labour…

    summer: I felt like a complete tool in the outfit until we got to the party and everyone else was dressed like that. I was having visions as we arrived of walking in and everyone else wearing tuxedos or something…

    Oh, and Linzi will be delighted to hear someone thinks she looks great – she feels like a “fat, bloated sack of potatoes”. (Her words, not mine!) Any positive words will do her the world of good at the moment.

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

