Crazy terrorist scumbags

August 10, 2006 at 8:06 am | Posted in family, moans | 5 Comments

Here in the UK this morning, Home Secretary John Reid confirmed that there had apparently been a plot “to bring down a number of aircraft through mid-flight explosions causing a considerable loss of life”.

The response of the authorities so far has been impressive. They’re in one of these “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” situations, and I sympathise with them. If they didn’t respond with such drastic action – I must admit that not allowing passengers to bring a book on board seems excessive – and something were to happen, they would be hung out to dry by the media and the public. On the other hand, they lock down the show like this, and they’re getting grief for the delays they’re causing for everyone.

Those airport employees are going to be getting hell today. Poor bastards. I, for one, would happily go through hours of rigorous scrutiny if it means putting a halt to these fucking nutjobs.

Of course, they can’t be stopped, and that’s what’s really terrifying. If these fuckers are determined enough, which we know they are, then they’re just gonna keep trying and trying and trying, and some day, they’ll succeed again.

The pointlessness, the absolute futility, of what these warped, misguided fanatics are trying to achieve, just stuns me. I normally avoid getting involved in religious/political issues – I just don’t have the stamina to do anything more than bitch about them, so usually, I don’t bother bitching at all. It’s hypocritical to complain about something you aren’t going to bother your arse trying to fix. I grew up in Ireland – the whole Protestant vs. Catholic, IRA vs Unionist thing has been part of my existence since birth. The terrorism issue is divisive and incendiary and ever-present, but when you live with it your entire life, it just doesn’t have the same effect on you. So mostly, I’m happy living in my bubble, even if my apparent apathy pisses you off.

But this one is personal. My dad’s flying home this evening, you see.

He’s only flying from here to Ireland. Ireland’s not exactly a hotbed of terrorist activity, so I’m sure he’ll be safe. However, in my glass-half-empty outlook, I’m theorising that because the security’s so tight on the bigger flights, these motherfuckers are just going to get on whatever planes they can to do their thing.

Ridiculous, I know, but I’m not gonna relax until he calls tonight to say he’s arrived safe and sound. Assuming, of course, his flight goes ahead this evening.

Who knows what the day will bring.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I sympathize with you as far as the worry goes. But airport security? No liquids? No books? As near as I can tell, airport security, at least here in America, has never caught a terrorist. They just make life difficult for the law abiding citizens. (For some reason, a woman travelling with five small children deserves extra scrutiny. What’s up with that?)

  2. jennie: I know what you mean – it’s almost definitely an over-reaction. But the alternative is no action at all, and I know which one I’d rather see happening! 😉

    I’m getting off work early today to take him to the airport early – there are currently 2-hour delays at the airports that are still open; Heathrow’s been more or less shut down completely.

  3. People are getting pretty freaked out over here, too. Terrorists suck.

    I know what you’re going to say next: ‘And so do women!’

    Spoken like a true machosexual. He he!

  4. People are getting freaked out? That’s just silly. Try getting freaked out about something that actually kills a noteworthy amount of people every year and see if you can convince your leaders to take drastic action on that. Terrorism doesn’t phase me even a teeny weeny bit.. I’m more likely to be killed riding my bike to work by a tired cabby. Terrorism is over-rated.

  5. summer: You took the words right out of my mouth…I need to get my mind out of the gutter. See, this is what happens when I’m not getting any…it becomes all I think about!

    michael: I know it’s silly. My head tells me it’s silly. My head knows the stats, knows my dad’s far more likely to be killed driving to work than he is to be blown up by terrorists. But when all the shite’s going on, and he has to fly, I can’t help but have some trepidation – the old emotions get involved, and it becomes more difficult to listen rational, logical thoughts because love, etc starts making me think the worst. Stupid, I know – I worry about pointless, uncontrollable things sometimes. 🙂

    Oh, and PS: he got home fine last night.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

