Am I too trusting?

August 15, 2006 at 11:12 am | Posted in nonsense | 10 Comments

Sometimes I remind myself of the girl in this cartoon:




I worry that I’m too trusting. At lunch today, I was in the kitchen area of our office, opening up a can of Heinz Chicken Soup. Mmm. Try to contain your salivation. There was a guy ahead of me in the queue for the microwave, and we chatted for a bit, then he said, Kav, go on back to your desk – I’ll put your soup in once mine’s ready.

I was all like, no, no, it’s alright, but he kept saying, no, I insist, so what could I do? I wasn’t about to lamp him a headbutt and say “I’ll heat up my own fackin soup, you caaahhnt!” for doing me this kindness.

But back at my desk, I couldn’t help but think: why did he so desperately want to be alone with my soup? Has he slipped me some rohypnol? Did he shoot his load into my chicken soup? Did he get everyone else in the office to hawk a loogie into it? Worst of all, is it just that he’s a decent guy who goes out of his way to be kind to his fellow workers? *shudder*

I’m eating it right now. If I never post again, you know why.

What would you have done?

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. No no no. I would never do that in my office. Not with all of the freaks I work with. You were brave.

  2. Maybe he just vanted to be ahlone, darhling. Actually, it depends on how well I know them. I always find myself working in small offices so I wouldn’t have a problem with it since I usually know my co-workers pretty well. No, not THAT well.

  3. NEVER….NEVER…..leave my food alone with anyone….more less a co-worker!!!! what were U thinkin?

    EW!….so is he smiling at you from across the room as he watches you eat ?!?!?

  4. We had a girl who would do this in my old office. But it was just so she could use the microwave ahead of you. She would even take your food out to put hers in.

  5. It’s nice to offer but creepy to insist, I say.

  6. fal: He seems like a decent guy, and I’m still alive. I didn’t even feel nauseous afterwards…

    howard: You’ve got me all insecure now. He probably just thinks I’m a dick and couldn’t be arsed talking to me. well, fuck him. I’m going to scream at him tomorrow morning.

    drm2b: I can’t see his face from my desk, so he could well have been. Think I’m ok though…unless it’s something slow-acting he’s poisoned me with.

    fyrchk: What a bitch. At least this guy had the decency to heat my soup, even if he did lace it with crushed glass. My stomach’s cramping as I type…

    cindy-lou: Agreed…losing….ability to type…suffering…massive embolism…tell my wife I

  7. tomorrow, go up to this dude and start taking off his shoes. He’ll most likely ask you what the fuck you’re doing and just plainly tell him that you’re going to rub his feet. He will proably resist this effort of kindness on your part but just tell him that you insist and it’s the least you can do for him since he heated your soup for you. As you rub his feet, stare directly into his eyes. He’ll either ask you out or never fucking look at you again.

    Let me know how that works out for you.

  8. tomorrow, go up to this dude and start taking off his shoes. He’ll most likely ask you what the fuck you’re doing and just plainly tell him that you’re going to rub his feet. He will proably resist this effort of kindness on your part but just tell him that you insist and it’s the least you can do for him since he heated your soup for you. As you rub his feet, stare directly into his eyes. He’ll either ask you out or never fucking look at you again.

    Let me know how that works out for you.

  9. oooh i woulda taken that soup n dumped it crackers make a nice lunch yanno?

  10. duckie: Much as I’d love to have the balls to do this…I don’t. You gave me a good chuckle though, so cheers for that.

    d34dpuppy: I’m really into Crackerbread at the moment. Just Crackerbread with a thin smear of butter…mmm.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

