O Glorious Day

October 9, 2006 at 8:02 am | Posted in family, nonsense | 29 Comments

A landmark in my young boy’s life, and hopefully a watershed for us, his exhausted parents.

Yes, at exactly 11 weeks old, the wee man has slept through the night. Consider that he was waking seven times a night only two weeks ago, and you’ll appreciate the enormity of this event.

7.30pm – 5.45am. Good job son. I’m proud of you. Maybe now your mother and I will begin to claw back some of our lost hours, and not be so perpetually zombified.

A full night’s sleep still didn’t stop me snoring on the train this morning.

~~~~~

In other news: If you’re coming to my blog and you spend thirty-one minutes reading my drivel, the least you could do is leave some manner of comment. You don’t even have to be nice. I promise, I won’t bite. Unless you ask me to. And if you do ask me to, I will bite you really fucking hard on the wrist.

Come on now. Don’t be shy.

29 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’ll learn you to keep wee Kav in your pants.

  2. Good man, your next challenge is to turn him into a formidable soccer player… (Cyprus, the shame, the shame)

  3. Ah the joys of parenthood, you remind me why I never want to know them. You know it’s remarkable but if you play Dylan records to your baby it will sleep like a, er baby. Of course if you deny your child Dylan records he’ll probably grow up to be some kind of souless outlaw, but that’s every parent’s choice.

    Actually because of your kind comments I believe you are exempt from this rule.

  4. Congratulations!!! I hope you didn’t jinx it by saying something.

    I have those ‘lurkers’ too. It’s irritating sometimes. I wish they would just leave a comment. Ah well.

  5. random stalker said:
    like your site…i’m reading it with an irish accent…weird.

  6. “Wee Kav”??!!??

    Please, say it ain’t so! Wee?

    Doesn’t that mean: little, tiny, miniscule, small, itsy-bitsy, weenie-ish, and all that stuff? You’re our favorite Irish Pirate now living in GB. I don’t want to see you as a “wee”.

    I was going to stay for 32 minutes, but I have things to do. I’ll come back again tomorrow. Smooches!

  7. Sorry….mea culpa – I presume I’m one of the heinous ‘lurkers’, having never left a comment here. My problem is that comments on blogs are either hugely witty or massively retarded, and I’m not sure which end of the spectrum I’m closer to. (Oscar Wilde as opposed to Paris Hilton – hhhmmmmmm)
    I’m wide open to abuse now….oh dear!
    My first and last blog comment perhaps?

    BTW Kav – congrats on getting the young fella to sleep for a whole night. Welcome back (kinda) to the land of the living!

  8. YAY for sleep! Were you still half-awake all night waiting for the crying?

  9. Oh damn. I remember those nights with my son. I was on my knees praying for mercy for many. I felt like a brand new woman the night he slept through. I also thought he’d smothered himself in something in the crib, too. It was the only reason he could be so quiet, yes?

    And here we are, thinking of doing this all over again.

    Sigh.

  10. How hard?

  11. so was not the thirty-one minute kid but i got kind of scared so i’m leaving a comment anyway.

    speaking of, thirty-minutes is a long time to spend reading a blog and all. unless they’re archive stalkers. i had some archive stalkers from the UK and they kept going to the post where I had posted a picture of my foot. bit creepy, it was.

  12. Yes, at exactly 11 weeks old, the wee man has slept through the night.

    You fucking cunt, and I mean that most sincerely. Mine will be 3 years old next month and still doesn’t sleep through the night. Then again, he has health problems, and is possessed, besides.

    Ah well, my first one was sleeping 8 hours a night when she was only 4 weeks old, so this is what I get for those halcyon nights.

    The Spouse Sparrow and I were trying to get it on this morning, and we see a toddler peeking over the crib at us, saying “Hi guys! What are you doing? Are you playing rocket?”

    Needless to say, that put an end to that.

    Children are the best form of birth control.

    And if you do ask me to, I will bite you really fucking hard on the wrist.

    Not my preferred place to be bitten, but as I’m not getting any other action, all right, c’mon, have a go.

  13. okay okay Im leaving a comment lol…hmmmmm checking out your blog for the first time..thats great that your little guy slept all the way through hope it continues for ya!

  14. The Swearing Lady: Remind me to tell you about the wee willie story. I’m too tired right now.

    conan: Too right. Although after Scotland’s win, the lad’s probably more likely to want to play for the Jocks.

    kieran: If it’s any consolation, I’d listen to your music over Dylan’s every time. What? That’s no consolation? Aw.

    debbie: I’m delighted to see that not nine, but THREE of them have revealed themselves here!

    dragonfly: Welcome. Feel free to comment whenever and wherever. I can’t get onto your site though. Is it secret?

    jali: Please. I don’t even need to brag. Gigantic, enormous…these words aren’t even even hyperbole in my case.

    kalise25ie: Welcome to you too! And keep commenting. You did a fine job on your first. The first time is always the worst – a bit painful, lots of effort for no real pleasure, and you wonder what all the fuss is about. It does get better though. Kind of like…um…going to the gym.

    Someone just told me I made this response sound sexual but I have no idea what they’re talking about.

    fyrchk: Does it make me a terrible parent to say no, and if logs possessed the ability to sleep, I would say I slept like one? I felt appropriately guilty this morning though, so that makes it okay.

    HDW: I feel your pain. You’re going for it again? Good luck! I’m contemplating getting the snip.

    cindy: Your comments are strangely arousing this evening.

    birdie: *gulp…red face…drool* Good thing I downloaded that pic into my private stash so I don’t have to keep going back to your archives. 😉

    And welcome to you too. I really feel a family bond developing as we all secretly look at one another’s blogs.

    fat sparrow: I was going to make some flippant remark about having skills to pay the bills, but I won’t, because I know all too actuely how you must feel. Having said that, it must be a thousand times more difficult in your situation – I’m terrible when I don’t get enough sleep, but three years…Christ!

    Where’s your preferred place then? Need I ask? I like to have a good chomp on Linzi’s jaw now and then.

  15. lindzypinzy: Spooky, we just posted at the exact same time. Welcome to you, and do feel free to comment again.

    And yeah, it is great. Fingers crossed for tonight…

  16. I have one lurking fucker that has read my entire ARCHIVE!

    Anyhoo, congrats on gettins some sleep. You might even get some rumpy pumpy. w00t!

  17. I’m not gonna lie. I’m a ‘pseudo-lurker’! I do this on everyone’s blogs. Sometimes, I’ll be in the middle of reading someone’s post, the phone will ring and I’ll walk away. That simple and then I become a stalker.

    Soooo sorry to all of you.

    Also, very glad to hear that little Kav slept through the night.

  18. Get working on # three ya dirty wee shite, sleep is for the weak.

  19. I’m terrible when I don’t get enough sleep, but three years…Christ!

    He has to be fed on a regular basis, as he has feeding/stomach problems, and cannot eat solid food. He’s on a special formula. The Spouse Sparrow and I take turns, so that makes it easier. Although last night the little fuck… er, I mean “darling” woke me up saying “Daddy, more boppy (bottle),” and I went to get him some, as the Spouse Sparrow was asleep, only to be told off by an irate toddler waving his hands at me (in that “talk to the hand” manner) and going “Nononono! I say ‘No!’ Mommy, lie down! Down! On the bed! Daddy, get me boppy!” I am beginning to not care what health problems he has at the moment, as that is simply taking the piss. The little bugger can damn well find the fridge on his own, next time. He is really milking this boppy thing, pun intended.

    Where’s your preferred place then? Need I ask? I like to have a good chomp on Linzi’s jaw now and then.

    Arse isn’t bad, neck is better. Oh, for back in the day, when the Spouse Sparrow and I used to, ahem, play “Buffy.”

    I totally got gypped with this second kid. My first one was totally easy, like a purse that you just carried around, and had to feed and change. No problems, no drama. Everyone said “Oh, second kids are so much easier!” So I was thinking that this was really going to be a piece of piss, which would have been highly valid, as I am too old for this shit.

    Thinking about getting the snip, are you? My little brother (of the 3 under 3) is getting it done. The date they gave him for his appointment is his wedding anniversary. Not likely he’ll forget that from now on, hahaha. He was planning on having all boys, but got all girls, and the wife is putting her foot down on trying for any more.

  20. steph: All systems are go. 🙂

    summer: I do that too. i’ll be reading someone’s blog at work, and then be called away to something, and it’ll appear that I’ve been reading that page for ages.

    old knudsen: Nae chance mate. Had a scare last week and I was delighted that we were not going to have another. Two is plenty for me to handle.

    fat sparrow: Now that’s what I call a comment. Where to begin? Jesus, sounds really tough – sometimes it’s the most difficult thing in the world to be patient with them, isn’t it? It’s hard to know when to be strict with them about that stuff – are they actually taking the piss, or are they genuinely upset about it for whatever reason?

    Our second has been like yours too. Erin was a dream, Jack has presented his share of difficulties. Things are improving though. I hope it’s heading that way for you too.

    Linzi and I are…debating about me getting the oul snip. She thinks I’m too young, and what if she dies, etc. Cheery stuff like that. She could well be right.

  21. fat sparrow: Now that’s what I call a comment.

    Ooops, my bad. You know, after it published, I went, “Jesus, that’s long.”

    Note to self: Do not use Kav as your personal therapist while fending off a migraine at 3 in the morning.

  22. Not at all. Anytime you like. Though getting therapy from me is sort of like asking a blind man for directions.

  23. I don’t have the bleedin time to comment after spending so long reading this!

    Feck sake… you want a pat on the head too?

    .
    .
    .
    And then the bastard thing makes commenting so bloody contrarey that this in itself is taking me 10 minutes instead of the 2 it should.

  24. am: Hohahah. I’d also like a bag of Maltesers. Great website by the way, very informative. Agreed about the commenting thing – it’s a pain in the hole. It’s easier to get into [insert a place well-known for being secure here] than it is to log on and comment.

  25. OK, so it’s not my website. I don’t have one. Don’t have time to have one.

    But is it where I work.

    And this is the second fecking time I’m writing this because of the stupid word verification I thought I posted, closed the window, and at the same time realised I shouldn’t.

  26. You work in Europe? Jeez, that narrows it down a bit. Although you say feck, so there must be a bit of Irish in you somewhere. Those word verifications – sorry. I kept getting bullshit spam comments, so I had to enable them. You get into the habit of double-checking each time you post.

  27. Holy crap, you’re in Belgium! Welcome, my European comrade.

  28. Irish brn and bred… And left right at the start of the oul’ economic boom.

    Now I can’t afford to go back, even if I wanted to.

  29. Tell me about it. We had the option of buying a full house on a half acre for £85k back in 2001 in Galway. Now it would be worth well over double that. Shoulda woulda coulda.

    I’m still waiting for it all to go pop so I can afford to move home.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

