Almost famous

November 6, 2006 at 2:18 pm | Posted in fun at work, Galway, moans, nonsense, writing | 9 Comments

The lovely Swearing Lady has received a wonderful write up in a national newspaper, The Irish Times. What makes it wonderful is: what the guy wrote about her is true.

I really hope that this is the start of something for her – she’s got too much talent to go unnoticed. Go and visit her and tell her she’s fucking great. Make sure you read the comments here, where it shows you exactly what was written, but the jist is in this paragraph:

“Written from a Council estate in Galway and fulminating on the issue of being intelligent and frustrated by poverty and lack of opportunity, Swearing Lady, when her anger is focused, is arguably the most talented writer at work today in Ireland.”

High praise indeed, and it also allows me to feel smug because I’ve been saying that for ages. I wish you well Sweary.

Of course, being Irish and having read about another person’s good fortune, I am now fiercely bitter and angry about my own lack of progress in life. Who the fuck wants to work in IT anyway? Why am I bothering to study for this exam when I feel absolutely zero passion for anything and everything to do with my career path? Why does everything I write fill me with self-loathing and the near-overwhelming urge to highlight it all and click Delete?

The latter question is both redundant and kind of hypocritical since I am writing this in the most voyeuristic forum possible, and am eagerly awaiting any and every comment and analysis from those of you who will bother to read this far. It doesn’t make it any less true, though.

In a six degrees of serendipity hoo-ha, I also stumbled across this gem of a blog today. The author of Gaping Void, Hugh, has much to say, and it all makes sense, to me at least. His entry on how to be creative is exactly the kick in the arse I needed just as I was about to begin wallowing in self-pity and anger at my own stasis. So cheers for that Hugh.

What to do? No choice; bills to pay. There’s comfort in the mental anaesthetic provided by my work in IT compliance, and I can always spew forth here to help maintain my sanity.

Blogs are brilliant, aren’t they?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love you.

    On a related note, you rock. I think you’re brilliant. And I’m sure the hoardes who gather here on your page, throwing virtual knickers at you, love you too. Also, Linzi.

    In other words, cheer up, have some charlie*.

    *Not really, DEA.

  2. Love schmlove… get over it and get begrudging…

    she’ll forget us, wait’ll you see, she’ll get paid for her writin’ and we’ll have to approach her like obsessive stalkers at book signings… boo hoo, we’ll remain pure though, like those unsigned acts who make morose music in garages everywhere.

    Fair fucks Mrs!!

  3. as a long time lurker on the fair lady’s blog, I can say for cert lucky bitch earned it. And she wont forget her roots.

    kav, darling, youve got things she doesnt have! like…a penis…and an endless array of fart stories! and a shiny blue suit!
    and kav – i TOTALLY would.

  4. *Throwing virtual knickers your way*
    Oh sorry bout that. I should aim a little higher, didn’t mean to hit you in the goolies…Sorry bout the cricket ball in the knickers too.

    Haaaaaaa!!

  5. innit funny? i would kill to be an IT person thingy but feel i’ve missed the boat. we always want what we don’t have, or to be where we’re not. feel better about stuff soon, eh? you are an amazing writer.

    consider virtual knickers thrown 🙂

  6. Kav you know that ‘I’ would right?

  7. English lesson 101: “…anger at my stasis.” (I removed ‘own’ because it’s redundant)

    Other than that I could barely read your post because there were too many big words today. Far too many!

  8. Sweary: Now that cheered me up. The line of coke I just snorted, that is. Nah, srsly, thank you.

    conan: Not I. I plan to capitalise on her good fortune by pimping myself as her online PR. I will charge her a whopping 15% commission for my role, which will be responding to her blog comments and spreading the word about her on my own blag. As you can see, I’ve already started.

    taihae: Having a lad? Fart stories? My dad’s shiny suit? Is that really mean to console me? Don’t worry, the last bit made up for it, heh.

    steph: You’re meant to take the knickers off before you throw them. Come on now, get off me.

    gaijin girl: I completely stumbled into IT. I went from microbiology degree to medical device manufacturing to pharma research to where I am now. If you want some info about stuff you can do to get into it, mail me. It’s never too late. Nobody’s an expert for long because it’s changing so fast. And thanks.

    old knudsen: Yesh, I know you would. In fact, you have already, and I’m still sore. I told you, wake me up first next time. It’s the polite thing to do.

  9. michael: You mean my word doesn’t count? I might as well shoot myself now.

    Cheers, so obvious now. I’m a muppet.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

