Hello to you

December 8, 2006 at 2:37 pm | Posted in fun at work, random | 23 Comments

I’ll be back with loads of news and views once I get this exam over with tomorrow, but right now, I’m looking for some recommendations from you. Having been immersed in horrible shit such as asymmetric cryptography and screened subnet firewalls for the past while, my brain has been starved of entertainment. It has been the best part of three months since I read a proper book. Recommend something to me. Anything at all, as long as you think it’s good.

Thanks for all your comments by the way, I appreciate the support. Normal service will resume shortly. I’m not looking forward to it. I have a ton of you bastards to visit and having to think of something clever and witty to say on each blog is a right pain in the hole.

Ah, fuck that, I’ll just leave shit comments like I usually do.

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Recently I enjoyed the first hundred pages of Mark Haddon’s A Spot Of Bother. Then I ran out of time and had to give it back. But I definitely want to read the rest of it. De-fin-ite-ly.

    Or I could send you some of mine. HAHAHAHAHAHA, I has mad skillz.

  2. Books books books…

    If you like Fantasy (teehehe) then I urge you to pick up Robin Hobb’s trilogy (or two of them in fact) Liveship Traders or Farseer Trilogy.

    OR grab the book ‘How the Irish Saved Civilisation’ and reminisce… *stares into space*

    Good luck with exam/test/thingy-ma-bobber-dealie

  3. Hey! Good to have you back! Hope you made sure the proctor was ‘taken care of’ for your exam.

  4. I’m still rereading the “Otherland” Series by Tad Williams. One of my favorites!

  5. Good Luck on your test!

    I like shit comments.

  6. Neal Stephenson’s “Cryptonomicon”
    If you haven’t already read it that is.
    You’ll fucking well love it.

  7. The Historian (about the history of Vlad the Impaler) is good spooky fun. The Left Hand of Darkness (if you haven’t read it years ago) is fascinating.

    If you are looking for something serious, try Suite Francaise.

    Hope the test goes swimmingly. I have no idea what you are being tested on, but good luck to you!

  8. OHOHOHOHOH….I’m reading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Actually it might be a litte chick – centric. I don’t know…you should check it out. Also very good – The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (I think). OHOHOHOH…and anything by Wally Lamb. OHOHOHOHHOHOH…and anything by Chuch Palniachuk. I think I spelled his name wrong, but he wrote Fight Club, Choke among other awesome books!!!

    Okay…I could go on…but that’s enough for now.

  9. Oh, I can’t wait til things are bac to normal.

    Try rading the Time Traveler. Loved that.

  10. Dead Air by Iain Banks

  11. 1. you don’t leave shit comments
    2. “In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex” by Nathaniel Philbrick.

    Fucking engrossing. Couldn’t put it dooon.

  12. Just finished …running with scissors …..in prep for the movie……whacked psych shit ….

  13. fuck reading. you need to stop reading alltogether. Don’t even read the clock. Let your brain settle into a nice little funk. Then start practicing sensory deprivation. Grow a beard and eat lots of cabbage. Fuck loads of cabbage.

    I don’t think this will do anything for you, but it will make for some pretty interesting posts. Don’t ya think?

    Ah fuck it. Go read a book ya wanker. You’ll never do anything i tell you to anyway.

  14. Well if you want to combine blogging with books, don’t foget that both Gorilla Bananas and Dr McCrumble have books out (links from Blunt Cogs sidebar)

  15. I just finished Kate Atkinson’s One Good Turn…it’s set in Edinburgh, and is very good! It’s one of those weavy-plot-ones where all the characters are connected to each other, but *none of them know it yet*! Ooooohhh….

    After all of that studying, I’m sure you’d be ready for something a little mind-numbing. Why don’t you try a Dan Brown?

  16. Glad you’re back! Can’t wait to hear how it all went down for you…

    For light escapist reading I recommend anything by Gregory Maguire (Lost, Wicked, Confessions of an Evil Stepsister, Son of a Witch). Beautiful, funny, deep, yet easy to read.

    For heavy world-issues reading, I’m picking up “The Upside of Down: Catastrophe, Creativity, and the Renewal of Civilization” by Thomas Homer-Dixon. I heard an interview with him on CBC and while the title makes the book sound really abstract and out there, it actually seems very cool, particularly if you are a ‘systems’ kind of a thinker. Haven’t read it yet, but it sounds really interesting.

  17. Welcome back! Hmm… bukes, is it? Tell me your two favourite bukes and I’ll think of something you might like…

  18. Thanks. Of everyone’s recommendations, I have already read the following:

    The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
    I know this much is true by Wally Lamb
    She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb
    All of Chuck Palahniuk’s books
    Dead Air by Iain Banks

    I know I like Mark Haddon, but the others are all new to me. I will definitely take them into consideration. Cheers. Ching.

  19. So you mean to tell me we have the same taste in books?

    Gah.

  20. The Lovely Bones is fucking glurge.

  21. I must admit, I liked the first bit of it, before it got all spirity.

  22. The Baroque Cycle by Neal Stephenson.

    It’s a big fuck-off trilogy (each part being about 800 pages, part 1 is Quicksilver, part 2 is The Confusion, and part 3 is The System of the World),

    It’s got lots of excitment and adventure, with some pretty accurate history thrown in for good measure.

    As Devin said, his other one, Cryptomancian (or whatever) is also a very good read. Set in a later period. Actually, read that. And then This.

  23. Ooooh…that’ll take me months to read. I bet it costs a fortune. I’m off to check amazon.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

